What college has taught me.

To think, this time last year, I was sitting in my room making lists of everything that I needed to take to college with me. Now, as I sit here in my somewhat messy, somewhat clean dorm room, I’m packing all the items on that list to come back home for the summer after my first year of college. It is absolutely remarkable to look back and reflect on the past year. Yes, I can say some of the same things about my years in high school, but this past year has truly been eye opening for me as an individual because of all of the things I have learned from being on my own. College is a myriad of things–but it in its entirety, college to any freshman is change. During this year I have experienced many changes, and it is through these changes that I have learned so much during my first year of college. So here’s my list of (just about everything) I have learned my first year away from home:

There is a huge difference between 8am in high school and 8am in college.
Even the smallest purchases on my parents’ credit card adds up in the long run.
It is a very rare and hard thing to keep your high school friends close, and if there is an instance where you get to keep your best high school friends close, not to let go.
People can surprise you in more ways than one, for better or for worse.
Late night food delivery services are literally God send.
Drama (unfortunately) does not end after high school.
Math will forever and always suck.

Nothing feels better than finally laying down to sleep after a long day.

Not put up with other people’s bullshit.

That sometimes I can’t do everything I want to do at the exact time I want to do it.

Sometimes the right decisions aren’t always easy, and sometimes the easy decisions aren’t always right.

Passion is what drives success.

Failure is sometimes inevitable, but success is always possible. 

That Velveeta easy macaroni cups are ten times more tasty than Kraft Easy Mac.

Movies and popcorn can become a real addiction.

To always layer when camping out for show or concert tickets because you never really know how long you will be sleeping on the concrete ground.

That taking pleasure in the little things can really make a difference.

That sometimes it really does suck not having a little sister to pick on all the time.

You never really know someone until you talk to them at two in the morning.

Not to take things for granted.

Musicals (Broadway and movie musicals) are freaking brilliant.

One can actually speak fluently in movie quotes and song lyrics.

It is actually extremely hard to go months at a time without seeing your family.

That maybe I probably should have gone dumpster diving for my iPod after I accidentally threw in the trash one day at lunch.

The key to happiness is staying away from assholes.

Shit happens.

To put on a brave face and smile in trying times.

That is amazing to see how far you can go without holding anyone’s hand.

It is okay to be single, even when everyone around you is a couple. 

You do you bro, I’mma do me. 

To be myself.

Leave a Reply

