I love television

I love television. Not, “Omigod you guys I love this show!” Well, okay maybe a little of that, too, but I genuinely love television. I watch a lot of TV–as in A LOT of TV. Probably more than I should, but I watch it nonetheless. Today viewers are blessed with some truly great shows with a lot of talented actors and writers. Below are the shows I watch most often, and why some of them are my favorites.

Castle

I know I’ve already blogged about how much I absolutely love Castle, but I still had to add it to my list. Season six has started out with a nail biter and it left my roommate and I on the edge of our seats, and it’s sure to be just as good the rest of the season.

How I Met Your Mother

I didn’t watch HIMYM when it first came out eight years ago, and it is definitely one of my biggest entertainment regrets. Hands down, HIMYM is one of my favorite shows on television right now. I geek out every time I watch it because I’m so obsessed with the plot and its characters (mainly because I’m a sucker for a good love story, but still). I binge-watched the first seven seasons all this past summer on Netflix and then finally found some free site to catch up on season eight and it was just awesome and I’m just really, really excited for the final season. The mother! THE MOTHER! Ahhhh it’s just too exciting.

New Girl

Okay seriously, who doesn’t love Zooey Deshanel? For real though. Nick and Jess. It’s just too good to be true.

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

I’m a Marvel fan through and through, that’s all I can say. This show has the potential to be really great or a total flop, but it’s off to a pretty good start so far. I just wish Chris Evans would come out and steal the show. Ahhh, I can dream, can’t I?

Modern Family

Definitely a family favorite of mine; before I left for my freshman year at Ball State, my family and I watched every week, no matter much homework or work we had to do. We stopped everything we had to do and took a break to just laugh.

Friends

It’s a classic, what can I say? It’s a great show and it never gets old. Plus, it’s great to just put on a sleep timer on my television and just fall asleep the the hilarity of Monica, Joey, Ross, Chandler, Rachel and Phoebe.

Bones

I only started watching Bones because it was on on TNT for three hours before Castle started, but after watching it a few times, I actually genuinely like it. Definitely not one of my faves, but it’s got some good stories and great characters. AND Emily Deshanel and John Francis Daley from Freaks and Geeks (another fun show, might I add) are in it. How cool is that?!

Walking Dead

I was ten yards away from Norman Reedus at the Wizard World Comic Con this past August. It was fantastic. October 13 can not come fast enough. I want to see more zombies. And more Daryl. And more Maggie and Glenn. And more Carol. Two. Weeks. Breathe, Hannah. It’s just two weeks away.

The Newsroom

I finally decided to join the bandwagon on this one, but it is one of my current TV favorites. It’s a great drama, and Jeff Daniels is just perfect. There’s a great cast of characters, and Aaron Sorkin just writes great episodes. I totally understand why so many people love this show. I may be a bandwagoner but it’s a great show to watch nonetheless. It captivates what actually goes on in a newsroom and I just love it. I understand all of the subtle jokes because of my major and if I’m the only one in my room watching it and I have my door propped open, people sometimes stare when I laugh really loudly at a joke any normal person wouldn’t understand. It’s like with the Big Bang Theory: I think it’s hilarious even though I never understand anything, but my dad does because he minored in astronomy and had to take a bunch of physics courses. It’s quite funny. Anyways. I’ll be happy to start season 2 when I have the time (I don’t have HBO…that’s wayyyyy too expensive for a broke college student).

Once Upon a Time

Second favorite drama currently on television. Fantastic writing. Great, classic characters and a cool twist on everyone’s favorite fairy tales. Edward Kitsis and Adam Horowitz certainly know how to deliver perfect doses of fun and action every Sunday night on ABC. Once is a Sunday evening tradition for Justin and I and we’re extremely excited it’s finally back for the third season.

The Big Bang Theory

If you don’t love Jim Parsons just go home right now. But seriously. This is probably one of my favorite comedies after HIMYM. Big Bang never ceases to disappoint me when it comes to humor (even if I don’t understand it; yet that probably makes it all the more funny), and it’s a regular in my room. I’ve got all six seasons on DVD so if Danielle and I are bored of watching regular television one night or we just don’t want to watch a movie, in goes a season of Big Bang and on goes the sleep timer. Sleep timers are probably one of the greatest inventions. EVER.

Sherlock

I LOVE LOVE LOVE this show. My Dad got me hooked on it my senior year of high school and it, too, is another personal favorite. Benedict Cumberbatch is brilliant as Sherlock and Martin Freeman is hilarious as Watson. I’m on the edge of my seat waiting for series three to come out, in both the UK and here in the US. It’s a load of codswallop that we’ve got to wait until AFTER BBC premieres it in Europe.

Leave a Reply

