An overlooked holiday

In the spirits of today’s society, Thanksgiving is quite frequently overlooked as a holiday amid all the Christmas hype. I will be the first to admit that Christmas is my favorite holiday after Harry Potter’s birthday because, well let’s just face it: Christmas really is the most wonderful time of the year. Since I went away to college, Christmas has become my next favorite part of the year after the summer because I get to see my family and friends from home for more than two days at a time. Yet, I still can’t forget the important holiday of Thanksgiving. I really do love Thanksgiving (it’s probably my next favorite holiday after Christmas and Harry Potter’s birthday); it is a great time for my family, friends and I to eat, catch up and relax before the last couple hellish weeks leading up to the end of the semester.

In the lieu of all the craziness that is my life, I’ve realized that this year I have been blessed with so many things to be thankful for. I am truly lucky to be surrounded by so many loving and caring people here in Muncie, at home, and across the country. I can go on and on about everything that I am thankful for this year–my mom, my dad, my sister, my friends, my Aunt Rose, my family, my job, Julie, my health, etc.–but I’m not going to bore you detailing them all. However, there are two important things in my life that I am very, very thankful for.

When I came back to Ball State this year, I changed my major course of study from magazine journalism to journalism graphics. It was kind of a tough decision, but after starting graphics classes, getting involved with student media and talking to my department advisor and sequence coordinator, I realized that my passion lies in design. With this, I also realized that I wouldn’t want to be any place else. I have been given so many opportunities because of the wonderful program and professors of the College of Communication, Information and Media and the Journalism Department at Ball State. I can’t imagine studying journalism graphics anywhere else. I continue to be surprised at what I do, and am capable of doing, each time I attend class, talk with a professor or talk with another student in my major. I am constantly surrounded by people who are so happy and enthusiastic to be a part of student media and a part of a group of people who are incredibly talented, creative and driven in their respective major tracks. I am lucky and thankful that I can say I am a part of that group of students.

This year I am most thankful for being able to go home and see my grandma. After her stroke in February, I am lucky that my grandma is alive and kickin’. It’s still very hard to go home and see her because so much has changed in her life; she can’t do the same things she did before her stroke. I think this is why I am so thankful for everything else in my life this year, because I know now that everything can change in a second. I learned that important lesson over the summer while taking care of my grandma. It’s because of my her that I’m grateful for the little things–for being able to sit down and eat a meal or watch an episode of Castle with her, for getting random calls from Julie all the way in Pittsburgh just to say hello, for actually talking to my mom on the phone, for Broadway jam sessions with Justin, hanging out with Molly, Abbie and Tiff, for my roommate putting  27 Dresses in the dvd player for me when she leaves before I get back to our room. My life wouldn’t be what it is this year without all these–and so many more– little things.

242133_3837152653769_556940678_o

Leave a Reply

