An Open Letter to Mother Nature

Dear Mother Nature,

As most in the Midwest have noticed, you’ve been feeling a tad bit icy lately. And by a tad bit, I mean a lot. Are you sure you’re feeling okay? We get that it’s winter and all, but this sub-zero weather and constant snow everywhere is really getting old. We know it’s only February, but you can at least tone it down a little bit. Elsa toned it down for Arrendelle and everything was a-okay. Do you need to sing about it? I’m sure Idina Menzel would gladly help you get through this rough patch.

Anyways. As Mother Nature, I’m sure you quite enjoy all the seasons. I currently have a love/hate relationship with the winter you’ve brought us this year. Granted in recent days it’s started leaning toward more of a hate relationship, but I’ll just let you know all the pros and cons of this insane weather you keep giving us:

PROS

I get to wear sweaters. Like, all the time.

I get to wear cute leather boots. Like, all the time.

I have long enough hair to look cute in berets and knit headbands.

It gives me reason to get Starbucks and not feel the pain of an empty wallet stabbing me in the heart every time I buy a grande nonfat white hot chocolate with a shot of peppermint and whipped cream.

I get to get all cuddly with my blankets and Fluffy Puppy that Justin gave me for Christmas last year.

It looks so pretty when you walk outside and it’s snowing because Ball State really does have a beautiful campus.

CONS

I have to wear sweaters. Like, all the time. Do you know how annoying it is to have to wear a tank top, sweater, huge scarf and THEN a jacket? I walk outside, and yes, I’m warm, but as soon as I get into a building I start sweating and have to strip off half of what I’m already wearing so I don’t pass out.

I have to wear cute leather boots. Like all the time. It’s hard trying to look presentable all the time and then wearing a pair of boots that HAVE ABSOLUTELY NO TRACTION ON THEM and then you go and you’re walking like a penguin to class because you don’t want to wipe out in the middle of other people also hurriedly walking like penguins to get to class on time. Yes. Life is rough.

I have long enough hair to look cute in berets and knit headbands. Then I get to class and take off my hat or headband and my hair looks absolutely atrocious and I have to put it up in a pony tail so I don’t look like I just rolled out of bed (this only happens about half the time).

It gives me reason to get Starbucks and feel the excruciating pain of an empty wallet stabbing me in the heart every time I buy a grande nonfat white hot chocolate with a shot of peppermint and whipped cream just so I can try and keep myself warm on the long back to the journalism building or Kinghorn.

I get to get all cuddly with my blankets and Fluffy Puppy that Justin gave me for Christmas last year because I’m still single and don’t have anyone to cuddle with in warm fuzzy blankets so Fluffy Puppy will have to suffice.

I have to walk outside when it’s snowing, because even though Ball State really does have a beautiful campus, it is much prettier when you get to enjoy it in the summer and not have to worry about your glasses fogging up every two seconds from your breath in your scarf and finding out how many boogers you have in your nose because the sub-zero weather is freezing them so you can feel them all in your nostrils.

So there you have it, Mother Nature. You can get rid of winter now please. I’m ready to wear shorts and TOMS, the beach and grilling season. And hey, you can even throw in some 80 degree days in March like you did a couple years ago. I would totally not complain if you did that.

Sincerely,

A cold and disgruntled Hannah

One comment

  1. 1. Mother Nature needs to get past whatever spat she and Father Time had. ‘Cause it’s getting a bit ridiculous ’round here. I almost started listening to Christmas songs again. You know what… time for second Christmas.

    2. I want my sweater back.

    3. If you get a hot chocolate from Starbucks, leave the fat in there. It is worth it.

Leave a Reply

