A Word on Valentine’s Day, and the year I thought I had a secret admirer

Valentine’s Day. The day where all the couples get to be extra cute and mushy gushy and singles get to wallow about how they’re alone because it’s the one day where it is socially acceptable to boast your relationship status (or lack thereof).

I have a love-hate relationship with the holiday. In recent years, I’ve taken to hating the holiday because it’s really just a day designated by Hallmark to spend obscure amounts of money on chocolate, pieces of paper and flowers. It’s stupid really. Yet all of society conforms and sends candy and teddy bears to their loved ones.ย Now don’t take this a rant for me hating Valentine’s Day for the sole reason that I’m 20 years old and still single–yes, my ‘hate’ part of the love-hate relationship with the holiday stems from that. But. I have many, many reasons to love the holiday, and that’s what I’m going to focus on (for the most part).

Last year on Valentine’s Day I went out to dinner with some of my friends–some were single and some were in relationships–and we just went out and had a good time regardless of being alone or not. While at this little dinner at Panera Bread, my phone rang with an unknown number. I answered, and it was Insomnia Cookies telling me to come down the lobby of my dorm because they were almost there with my order.

I was so confused. I did not order cookies. I told the delivery guy that, and he said that he’d hang up, check the name and phone number for the order and call me back. A minute later he called again and said, “Nope, you’re name is Hannah and this is your phone number,” and he rattled off my phone number. I told him that he’d have to leave the order at the front desk because I wasn’t going to be back for about an hour or so. I hung up the phone and this is a basic transcript of my freak out:

OHMYGOD.

I HAVE A SECRET ADMIRER.

SOMEONE LOVES ME.

I’M NOT GOING TO BE ALONE ANYMORE.

JKLSFJKLSJFAKJFLWEJOIJFKLSDJFAJFIEOWJI WHAT IS LIFE.

IT’S GOING TO BE LIKE THE END SCENE OF YOU’VE GOT MAIL AND IT WILL BE AWESOME.

YAY. I’M GETTING FREE COOKIES FROM SOMEONE WHO LOVES ME.

After about five minutes of this, my phone buzzed with a text from my mom. It included a photo of an old card I had given to my dad as a kid with a picture of me with some sort of Tupperware container on my head, and a message that said, “Share the cookies!!! Love you and Happy Valentine’s Day!!!”

563415_4499759818534_1070757330_n

My secret admirer was my mom. I’ll admit that at first I was a little disappointed, but then I realized that even though I am blatantly single and failing to mingle, I have so many people that care about me. I even got this awesome card from Julie last year too:

65965_4493574183897_1048135362_n

Yes, for me, Valentine’s Day is more like Single Awareness Day, but it’s totally okay because I know that I’ve got tons of friends who love me and who I love in return. Valentine’s Day isn’t just about showing the person you are currently in a relationship with you love them. I think it’s about showing all of the people who are most important in your life that you love them.

This year, Julie’s coming up to visit, and I could not be more excited to be spending this weekend with her and my friends because I know that I’m lucky to have people in my life to care about me. Will Julie and I probably end up watching sappy romantic comedies and cry about our non-existent love lives? You can bet on it. Do I already have the bag of chocolates that will inevitably be eaten while wallowing in self pity over the fact that I am single? Oh of course. Am I going to look at Ryan Gosling “Hey Girl” memes on Pinterest for the greater portion of my classes? I’m 80% positive that I do that at least twice a week already.

But it’s totally okay. Everything else in my life–school, friends, family, my jobs, and my health–are going perfectly well. I’m content with where I’m at and the people I’m spending my time with, because eventually, whether it be tomorrow, next week, next month or next year, my time will come to be sappy and mushy gushy and cute on Valentine’s Day. The cliche is true: It will happen at the most unexpected time and with the most unexpected person. And it may not happen with a bouquet of carrots, or through AOL, or even with a Peter Gabriel song. But it will happen. That I’m sure of.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

