I promise you, I will remember this happened

I have a bad habit of waking up in the middle of the night and having conversations with my roommate Danielle and then not in any way remembering them the next day.

That being said, this semester, I’m in a magazine design class where we are creating, conceptualizing and designing our own magazine–a print and iPad version–throughout the entire semester. It is an immense amount of work, and I can probably say that about half the time I’m working on something, whether it be homework, student media, or other side projects, I am working on my magazine.

The past couple weeks or so have been crunch time to get this project done. Since this past Sunday, I’ve almost been working nonstop on my magazine, and it’s sort of overrun Danielle and I’s room.

Overrun as in at one point, we couldn’t really walk in a straight line around our room:

photo 1 (1)

 

So then I moved it to the blank wall behind our door:

photo 2 (1)

Since my 36-page magazine has moved to the wall, a second and updated draft has been taped over the first draft that was originally taped up.

Now remember what I said earlier about me waking up in the middle of the night and having conversations with Danielle? Well most of the time, this happens either when Danielle comes in from or leaves for a night desk shift (she works nights at our hall’s front desk), and about 98% of the time we have these late night conversations, I have absolutely no idea what we talked about the next day.

Last night when Danielle and I got back from Cardinal Life (the yearbook) I sat on the couch and started working again, on CL stuff and then I tried trudging through more items for my magazine. Danielle looked at me and said, “You’ve been working and looking at a computer screen for hours on end for the past three days. Go to bed.” I was able to get through about 45 more frustrating minutes of trying to make an interactive advertisement work before I actually took Danielle’s advice and went to bed.

When I woke up this morning, I distinctly remembered one thing from last night: I knew I talked to Danielle when she left for work, and the only thing I remembered from me remembering I actually talked to her was that I said I was ‘going to remember what we talked about’ when she asked me if I was going to remember any of this in the morning.

Fun fact: I totally didn’t remember a darn thing besides remembering I said I would remember what we talked about.

That is until Danielle tweeted at me this afternoon:

photo 4

 

Literally, this was my only thought when I saw that tweet:

 

Now, I distinctly remember going, “Oh my god I just had a nightmare where literally all of my magazine just went soooooo wrong!!!” I remember my heart racing and thinking oh my God if that actually happen I’d fail and I’d be screwed and then Pam (my professor) would hate me and ahhhhhhhhh. 

I replied to the tweet saying, “@danielleortiz16 wait really?!” and I texted her.

photo 3

 

Needless to say, I did NOT remember anything. So this has been my life for the past few days and weeks. It’s honestly been quite entertaining; I mean, who wouldn’t want to have nightmares about their semester-long project just completely going wrong with an inevitable demise?

Deep breaths, Hannah. Just like Tracey told Robin before her wedding. Three deep breaths.

One comment

Leave a Reply

