Why I’m excited for The Fault in Our Stars

Okay, first of all, who isn’t excited for the Friday’s release of The Fault in Our Stars? If you’re not, you’re probably some weird robot concoction who doesn’t know how to feel genuine emotions of young adult human existence. That, or you just have a black hole where your heart should be. But they’re basically the same thing.

Secondly, if you couldn’t tell from the above paragraph, I’m obviously excited for TFIOS. Excited as in, I’m tearing up and jumping up and down every time I see a trailer on TV or when I go to the movies. Excited as in, I’m screwing up my sister’s entire reading schedule because I’m making her read TFIOS so she can see it opening weekend. Excited as in, I’m probably seeing it twice this week because I already preordered tickets for the Thursday showing and then I’ll see it again with my sister, mom, and Aunt Rose.

So why am I excited? I’m excited for a number of reasons, but most of them have to do with the fact that I love John Green’s work. I’ve only not read one of his books (An Abundance of Katherines, and it’s on my list for this summer). But I’ll get into why I love John Green so much in a bit. I’m also super excited for TFIOS because they couldn’t have casted Hazel Grace Lancaster and Augustus Waters more perfectly. I’m also excited because, as a John Green fan, I’m a Nerdfighter, and Nerdfighters get super overenthusiastic about stuff to the point where it’s socially acceptable to be super overenthusiastic about stuff because we’re just that awesome.

I first read a book by John Green around my sophomore or junior year of high school (I can’t remember which, that was like, four years ago). I think I instantly fell in love with Green’s writing style because it was so genuine and his narrative is so real. Most YA books I had been reading at the time were almost always (okay, 99.999999999999999999% of the time) told from the point of view of a teenage girl. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’ve read some fantastic books with a female POV before. But, reading Looking for Alaska and Paper Towns I seriously couldn’t believe how much I loved reading a book from the male perspective. It was just so interesting and different to me and I liked it.

These two books made me fall in love with John Green. It’s not everyday that writers can say things like, “Maybe there’s something you’re afraid to say or someone you’re afraid to love or somewhere you’re afraid to go. It’s gonna hurt. It’s gonna hurt because it matters,” and completely captivate teenagers? Like seriously?! Who says this?!

John Green quite literally writes beautiful words, and that is the reason why I preordered TFIOS when it came out in 2012 (that, and he was signing all the preorders). But seriously: John Green writes beautiful words. He perfectly captures the essence of young adults. I was not in any way disappointed when I received my copy of TFIOS either. John Green did it again, both wonderfully and beautifully. He captured young adults as they are and how they wish to be.

John Green’s words, among other things, are what make him an awesome person. He is awesome for writing fantastic books for young adults (and adults too, let’s be real here. We all probably know an adult who’s read TFIOS), but he is also awesome because he gives his readers hope: Hope that we too can have great lives because we matter:

48ae66e3ee74653b1e10190e3c89357f

 

And hope for love:

3ff1fcc250f8af9f11430b0aea084692

And hope for a life filled with everything in between:

88392564e925f05e6e9e1c41c0401fd9

A lot of people see TFIOS, a story about teens with cancer, as a love story, and by every standard it is (and it’s a good one, I might add). TFIOS is story about two teens falling in love with each other under the most unlikely of circumstances. But more importantly, the way I and many other Nerdfighters and readers see it, is that TFIOS is a not only a love story about two teens falling for each other but also about falling in love with the life they have, however short it may be. That’s the reason why I’m so excited about everything TFIOS. In the book, Hazel says, “You gave me a forever within the numbered days, and I can’t tell you how thankful I am for our little infinity.” I’m excited for TFIOS because I’m excited about life. Everyone deserves to have an infinity within our numbered days.

Leave a Reply

