If my life were a movie musical, this would be the soundtrack

As many of you know, I am always going on about how awesome my life would be if it were a movie or a musical–or even better, a movie musical. Even though there are times I wish this were true, I am lucky to have a pretty awesome real life.

But, if my life were a movie musical, the following list would be some of the songs on the soundtrack. In my mind, these would either be songs playing in the background or my friends and I would be doing covers of them. Regardless, in this alternate reality, my life is a movie musical and it is just as awesome as it is now, then times that awesome level by infinity because MUSIC.

Ideally, Nora Ephron would write and direct the flick, but unfortunately she’s not alive anymore so that can’t happen. I also couldn’t let my life be a movie musical without a stellar cast that includes Zooey Deschanel, Jeremy Jordan, Cobie Smulders, Christen Miliotti, Judy Greer, Joseph Gordon Levitt and James Marsden. But let’s be real here: If this was Bollywood and I was Indian, Mindy Kaling would totally play me.

ANYWAYS. Here’s what some of the soundtrack would look like (the songs are in no particular order and should not reflect the chronological order of this imaginary film with imaginary scenarios). I’d like to think that eventually it would be nominated for some sort of soundtrack award or something.

The song towards the beginning of the film where a real douchey guy breaks up with me and I’m super excited that I’m free to live my somewhat awesome life:

Never Wanted Your Love, She & Him

The song where everything is going so right and so wrong all at the same time and I’m so stressed out that I can’t yet see the light at the end of the tunnel so I just let go of everything and everyone I love for a while, which really only means it’s about 5-10 minutes because it’s a movie:

Vienna, Billy Joel

The song where I realize how much everything matters in my life, not just work, and I have an epiphany and decide to take it down a notch and tell the apparent love of my life that I want to spend forever with him:

(Also, in my head, I’m singing this at a kareoke bar. The apparent love of my life walks in and it’s just a great scene)

Goodbye, Aaron Tveit

The song where the guy who is apparently in love with me (Remember, this is alternate reality, my life’s not THAT great people) pours his heart out:

Let My Love Open the Door, Luminate

End Credits

Home, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros.

 

Additionally, here are some other songs and/or scenarios I would be jammin’ out to them in:

I’d come home after a long day of work and realize I’m single and open up the fridge to find left over pizza and sing Love Is An Open Door from Frozen 

When I’m walking through the city to get to work and feeling like a million bucks I’d be singing Uptown Girl.

Who wouldn’t want to just be in the middle of a mall or a large, crowded area and have everyone join you in singing Tearin’ Up My Heart by NSync???????

Road trips with friends would be a gazillion times better if we pulled over on the side of the road in the middle of nowhere and start singing I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles) by the Proclaimers to random cars.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Welcome! | HJ&M

Leave a Reply

