Hi, I’m Hannah, and Apparently I’m an Adult

Hello readers of my blog! And by that, I mean, Hi Mom! Hi three friends that actually click on the link I shared on Facebook!

As most of you know, this year marked the beginning of my junior year at Ball State. Yes, my junior year. On the first day of classes, I turned 21 (which is super exciting). And I live in an apartment now. I commute to class via an automobile in which I have the license to operate. I have a job. I have a freelance job. What is this life?

Basically what I’m getting at is this: I’m becoming an adult. And what I’ve realized about this is that being adult, albeit exciting, is hard. 

I think I came to this realization this past weekend while I was actually being somewhat productive adult things, like:

  • Taking my car to Tire Barn because my tire pressure light went on again for the third time in about four weeks
  • Laundry (ie, my own clothes, all of the throw blankets in the living room, and dog toys)
  • Grocery shopping
  • Watching a movie and chillin’ on the couch with a Redd’s Strawberry Ale and popcorn (SIDE NOTE: I still find it super weird that I’m allowed to drink and actually go buy things like alcohol at the grocery store. Like what is this life?)
  • Vaccumming, sweeping and mopping the apartment
  • Washing dishes
  • Cooking lunch/dinner for my roommate and I

Yes, I, me, a mere 21-year-old, did those things of my own accord, because I am adult, and adults do things that need to get done.  My roommate was so impressed that he tweeted about it:

He then prompted to tweet this, to remind all of the gentlemen out there that I, a dinner-cooking adult, am still single:

Actually, hopelessly single:

Now. Flash forward to Sunday, where I also did more adult things.

My roommate from last year and good friend Danielle (yay!) came over for the day and I made tacos (don’t worry, I didn’t infuse them with beer this time) and we worked on homework.

However, homework had to wait, because we were going to revisit our idea of going somewhere for spring break.

Most college kids are like, “YEAAAA SPRING BREAK IN PCB FLORIDA KEGS FOR DAYZZZZZZ!”

Danielle and I are sitting here like, “TIME TO PLAN DISNEY SPRING BREAK 2015!!!!!”

And we did. We planned and planned and budgeted and have (with the help of Danielle’s mom) booked a hotel on Disney property for 6 days in Florida and are heading to the Disney Parks and Harry Potter World (YAY) (separate blog post to come at a later date).

After we did booked everything, we looked at each other and said, “Wow, we’re such adults! We budgeted properly and are getting a good amount of bang for our buck, which is still costing a lot but it’s worth it! Time to save money because WE’RE GOING TO DISNEY!”

Because, you know, totally booking a trip to Disney World over spring break is the epitome of being an adult (however, adults book trips to Disney all the time for their kids, and they still have a grand old time, so it’s kind of the same thing).

Booking the trip prompted me to start a list of things I need to budget in order to save money, and while I am an adult, it’s still hard to prioritize between adult things and college things:

image1

Now today, Monday, I’m still processing the fact that I’m an adult who’s going to Disney, and also an adult whose tire pressure light went on AGAIN and has to go the car dealership to see what the problem is so I don’t get in an accident and get maimed or seriously injured.

Naturally, what do I do while processing this? I internally freak out and have a twenty-something crisis and take to Twitter:

And, unfortunately for my newly thought up budget idea, Amazon:

But, I had logic when making my purchases: the portable phone charger will come in handy when in Disney, so Hannah: 1, Budget: 0.  Now the book on adulting (Adulting: How to Become a Grown-up in 468 Easy(ish) Steps by Kelly Williams Brown) was probably not the smartest  idea, but I’m thinking it’ll help me freak out less about being a real adult with real adult things to do, but still: Hannah: 1, Budget: 1.

I also took to the Internet, namely BuzzFeed, and found an article that perfectly captured my feelings about attempting to be an adult:

20 Signs You’re Not Fit To Be an Adult

I can shamelessly say, and reiterate for you lovely people, that about 90% of the article pertains to me:

1. I don’t feel my age at all:

2.  My mom still does schedule doctor appointments for me:

3. Making a budget is hard (see above)

4. I always misplace my phone, and yes, it does result in a mini heart attack:

But, even in the overwhelming stage of becoming a functioning adult who does things like have a Redd’s Strawberry Ale while watching a romantic comedy (for the umpteenth time) and takes her car to get fixed multiple times a month and plans trips to Disney and goes grocery shopping and does her laundry, I’ve found some solace:

Images: Buzzfeed

Leave a Reply

